Housed in the Old North National School, Abbeyleix's Heritage Centre interprets the Planned Estate Town of the de Vesci Landlords, once home to the Abbeyleix Carpet Factory, where a number of hand-tufted carpets were made for the state rooms of the Titanic.
Come face to face with dinosaurs, meet an Egyptian Mummy and see modern masterpieces with a visit to the Ulster Museum. As Northern Irelandâ€™s treasure house of the past and present, the museum is home to a rich collection of art, history and natural sciences and free to all visitors. From Ireland to the South Pacific, ancient relics to hands on activities, the museum offers something for everyone from the simply curious to the enthusiast.
In 1995 the Thurles Church of Ireland community kindly donated one third of St Maryâ€™s Church to create a Famine Museum to commemorate the many Irish people who lost their lives through disease and starvation during the Great Famine in Ireland of 1845-1849. The Famine and War museums are designed to be as informative and interesting as possible.
Down County Museum, where the rich heritage of County Down is brought to life in fascinating exhibitions, lively events, hands-on activities and award winning education programmes. The museum is located in the historic buildings of the eighteenth century County Gaol of Down. In addition to walking through the restored complex complete with cells, visitors can learn more about 9000 years of human history in County Down in the newly launched exhibitions Down Through Time.
The story of the Irish Winegeese is fascinating. Their roots lie in the flight of the "Wild Geese", the soldiers who fled from Ireland to France after the Treaty of Limerick in 1691. During the 18th and 19th centuries many thousands followed these soldiers for political and economic reasons. Sometimes they travelled on the French ships that smuggled wine into the west coast of Ireland, described on the ships' manifests as "wild geese", evoking the lonely calls of birds travelling winter skies.
The Irish in Australia exhibition at the National Museum of Australia. To coincide with St Patrick's Day and the announcement of our upcoming Irish In Australia exhibition, the Museum building was lit green on Tuesday 16 and Wednesday 17 March. The Irish in Australia exhibition is scheduled to open at the National Museum on 17 March 2011 (St Patrick's Day). The exhibition will examine the Irish presence in Australia from the beginning of European settlement to the continuing arrival of young Irish 'backpackers' and settlers today.
The idea for a permanent Museum in Dungarvan was first put forward by Dungarvan I.C.A. who organised a public meeting in 1982. From this meeting an ad-hoc committee was appointed to set up and plan for the establishment of a new Museum and to acquire a suitable premises. R.A Merry's Wine Stores at Main street was put on the market and purchased by the then County Manager for conversion into a Library, Museum and Tourist Office.
We aim to collect, conserve and ultimately display the material heritage and culture of Co. Cavan and its environs, for the benefit of the public. Exhibition galleries feature unique artefacts dating from the stone age up until the twentieth century, material spanning over 6000 years of occupation in Cavan.
The 'Museums of Mayo' network was established in 1997 to collect, preserve, research and exhibit the varied and rich cultural heritage of Mayo. On this website you will be able to find out what each museum has to offer and plan your time to gain the most from your visit to County Mayo.
Described by the Lonely Planet as not just the best museum in Ireland, but one of the best in Europe, the Chester Beatty Library, Dublin is an art museum and library which houses the great collection of manuscripts, miniature paintings, prints, drawings, rare books and some decorative arts assembled by Sir Alfred Chester Beatty (1875-1968). Its rich collections from countries across Asia, the Middle East, North Africa and Europe opens a window on the artistic treasures of the great cultures and religions of the world. Chester Beatty Library was named Irish Museum of the year in 2000 and was awarded the title European Museum of the Year in 2002.
The Protestant Church of St. Maryâ€™s in Thurles is the site of the official Pre-Reformation Church of Thurles. The original structure was built by the Normans, in the 12th century, to provide them with a separate and more exclusive place of worship. Some time after the erection of St. Maryâ€™s church, it, together with the native church and those of Rahealty, Shyan and Athnid were given into the custody of the Abbot of Abbington, head of the Cistercian monastery which had been founded by Theobald Butler. The Abbot became the Rector of these churches. He also received the associated glebelands and tithe revenues. As was the practice, the Abbot paid a vicar or vicars, appointed by the Archbishop of Cashel, to perform the spiritual duties of these local churches.
The National Maritime Museum of Ireland is located in the former Marinersâ€™ Church in Haigh Terrace, DÃºn Laoghaire. This historic Church was built in 1837. The Church was designed to meet the needs of the seafarers whose vessels sought shelter in the asylum harbour of Kingstown. The church could accommodate 1400 people and the Deed of Trust stated that one third of the seating was to accommodate the families of those in the seafaring, coastguard and revenue services.
In these pages I tell of a famous love story. A story about three legendary kings who fought their battles on the fields of Ireland, in conflicts that had nothing to do with Ireland. The results of which were to shape the history of Ireland forever. It's a story about Irish soldiers who lost all their battles and were forced to leave Ireland, never to return from their bitter exile. It's a story of the Wild Geese who plotted new lives for themselves in other lands, and of many who died fighting each other in diverse armies and strange countries.
In June 1852 William Dargan, the father of the Irish rail network, approached the Royal Dublin Society (RDS) with an offer to underwrite a spectacular exhibition on Leinster Lawn in Dublin, the home of the RDS since 1815. He wished to imitate the great exhibition that had taken place at Crystal Palace in London the previous year. Just eleven months later, on the 12th May, the exhibition was opened in an astonishing series of pavilions for which the architect, John Benson, received a knighthood. The enthusiastic response of the visiting crowds demonstrated an active interest for art as well the desire for the establishment of a permanent public collection that would also be a fitting tribute to the generosity of Dargan.
The Irish Museum of Modern Art is the primary national institution in Ireland for the collection, organization and exhibition of modern art. The art is displayed through a variety of often-changing exhibitions. A lot of the art displayed at the Museum is from the Museumâ€™s own collection, though the Museum maintains a policy of hosting many visiting exhibitions throughout the year.
Located in Dublin's city centre, Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane, originally called The Municipal Gallery of Modern Art, houses one of Ireland's foremost collections of modern and contemporary art. The original collection, donated by the Gallery's founder Sir Hugh Lane in 1908, has now grown to include over 2000 artworks, ranging from the Impressionist masterpieces of Manet, Monet, Renoir and Degas to works by leading national and international contemporary artists. The Gallery presents dynamic schedules of temporary exhibitions, seminars and public lectures, publications and educational projects.
Donaghmore Famine Workhouse Museum is a unique attraction in Co. Laois, Ireland and aims to tell the story of the families who lived and died within the Famine Workhouse walls before, during and after the Great Famine.